ASSET & In-State Tuition

Front Range Community College is an open-door institution which allows any student to attend, regardless of citizenship. A high school diploma or a specific grade point average (GPA) is not required. However, most students must take a placement exam to ensure they have the ability to benefit from the level of instruction offered at FRCC.

You Are Not a U.S. Citizen

Please select the option below that best describes your situation to see how to establish residency:

ASSET

Senate Bill 13-033, also known as ASSET, was signed into Law April 29, 2013. The first semester affected by this Law is Summer semester 2013. To qualify for Colorado ASSET in-state tuition a student must:

  • Have attended a public or private high school in Colorado for at least three years immediately before graduation or completion of a general equivalency diploma (GED) in Colorado. Three years is defined as six academic terms from three separate academic years immediately preceding graduation or completing the GED.
  • Be admitted to a Colorado college or university within 12 months of graduation from a Colorado high school or completion of a Colorado GED, OR graduated from a Colorado high school or completed a Colorado GED before September 1, 2013 and have continuous physical presence in Colorado for 18 months preceding the start date of classes.

To receive in-state tuition:

  1. Complete an ASSET Application Packet.
  2. Complete an affidavit with the College Opportunity Fund indicating that you have applied for legal presence or will apply as soon as you are eligible to do so.
  3. Submit a complete ASSET application to the Admissions and Records office at your campus no later than 30 days after the start of your earliest course. 
  4. Look for a decision in your student CCCS email account within two weeks.


Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA)

If you have been approved for Deferred Action, you may be eligible to be classified as a resident of Colorado for tuition purposes. As a DACA student you may follow the regular residency guidelines as long as you have provided a Social Security Number to the college.

You Have NOT Attended FRCC

If you have never attended FRCC, or have not attended in the past three years as a non-resident.

  

For a review of your residency classification:

  1. Complete the Correction to Application for Tuition Classification form with your parents' information (or provide your own information if you are over 23).
  2. If SSN was not previously provided on the admissions application, provide a copy of your Social Security card and a demographic change form.
  3. Submit the form and documentation to the Admissions and Records office at your campus by the earliest drop date for your courses. If you miss the deadline, you will need to submit a Petition for Residency form.
  4. Look for a decision in your CCCS student email account within one week.

Other Residency Options:

  • If you have attended FRCC within the last three years as a non-resident OR
  • If you are under 23 and your parents/legal guardians do not live in Colorado OR
  • If you have missed the deadline to submit the Correction to Application for Tuition Classification form

  

 For a review of your residency classification:

  1. Complete a Petition for Residency form with your parent or legal guardian’s information (or provide your own information if you are over 23 or if your parents/legal guardians do not live in Colorado).
  2. If SSN was not previously provided on admissions application, provide a copy of your Social Security card and a demographic change form.
  3. Submit the petition and documentation to the Admissions and Records office at your campus no later than 30 days after the start of your earliest course. If you miss the deadline, your petition will be reviewed for the following semester.
  4. Look for a decision in your CCCS student email account within two weeks.


You Are a U.S citizen; Your Parents Are Not

You may qualify for in state tuition if you meet the Colorado High School/GED graduate requirements. If you don't meet those requirements you may still be eligible for in-state tuition.

To receive in-state tuition:

  1. Complete a Petition for Residency form.
  2. Provide your parents' physical presence documentation and your intent documentation.
  3. Submit the form and documentation to the Admissions and Records office at your campus no later than 30 days after the start of your earliest course. If you miss the deadline, your petition will be reviewed for the following semester.
  4. Look for a decision in your CCCS student email account within two weeks.

Contact Us