Sterile Processing Technology

Sterile processing technologists play a critical role in healthcare, preventing contamination and keeping patients safe. Earn FRCC's sterile processing technology certificate in one semester to begin your journey. See how FRCC can help jumpstart your new career.

Why Study Sterile Processing Technology at Front Range Community College?

A sterile processing technologist must pay attention to details. Because you will be collecting and sterilizing important equipment used to treat patients, being meticulous matters. In the Sterile Processing Technology program, you'll learn the principles and techniques to be an excellent technician.

At FRCC, we offer two pathways for people interested in Sterile Processing.

  1. Apprenticeship Pathway. Paid internship opportunities offer hands-on training through participating employers. Sterile Processing apprentices work at one of the employer locations during the week and take classes on the weekend. To become an apprentice, you must be hired by one of our partner employers first and they typically hire 2-3 months ahead of the start of the semester. Get more information about how to become an apprentice.
    Get Apprenticeship Details

  2. Traditional Student Pathway. In this pathway, you complete all coursework in one semester, then sit for their certification exam to become a Certified Sterile Processing Tech. Once certified, you can apply for jobs. This pathway includes 11 weeks of a full-time, unpaid internship.
    Admissions Requirements

No matter what pathway you choose, you'll be well-prepared to take the Certified Registered Central Service Technician (CRCST) exam through the Healthcare Sterile Processing Association (HSPA), formerly IAHCSMM. 

Certificate Details

Sterile Processing Technology

Program Location: Westminster

Total Credits: 18 credits (1 semester)

Learn to clean, sterilize, and assemble surgical instruments, equipment and supplies. Study important concepts:

  • Sterilization
  • Infection control
  • Decontamination
  • Surgical instrumentation processing
  • Storage and inventory management
  • Documentation and record maintenance

You'll be prepared to take the Certified Registered Central Service Technician exam through the Healthcare Sterile Processing Association (HSPA).

View Program DetailsSee Admissions Requirements

Careers & Outcomes

The certificate program in sterile processing technology can open doors for a career as a sterile processor.

Professional Licensure Disclosure

Students enrolling or continuing at Front Range Community College (FRCC) have a right to certain information that the college must provide. As a student applying for or attending the Sterile Processing Technician (SPI) Program, you have the right to know it meets the certification criteria for Colorado. The degree/certificate may count toward licensing or certification in states other than Colorado. If you are planning to seek work outside of Colorado, it is strongly recommended that you contact that State's certifying or licensing entity for guidance before you begin this program. Information on the national exam and state requirements is available on the International Association of Healthcare Central Service Material Management (IAHCSMM) site.

This program meets the applicable state prerequisites for licensure or certification in Colorado as listed below:

FRCC has not determined if the Sterile Processing Program (SPI) Program meets applicable state prerequisites for licensure or certification in states other than Colorado. These states include Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, District of Columbia, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming and U.S. Territories: American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, Puerto Rico, and the U.S. Virgin Islands.